"Berlin - Pergamonmuseum - Keilschrift - Cuneiform from Uruk" by Daniel Mennerich is licensed under CC BY-NC-ND
Books and eBooks
Learn where to discover books that are suitable for your assignments and group projects.
- You can find books on Library Search by using bibliographic details, for example Katz and Make it new.
-
You can discover books on Library Search by using keywords relevant to your topic, such as design thinking or social innovation.
You can use the 'eBook' filter if you'd like to limit your search to online books.
Reference books
Encyclopedias are great for background information for a new topic. They are updated regularly by experts and contain bibliographies for more in-depth information. Dictionaries can help you with terminology and key concepts.
eBook collections
Library Search is your first choice for finding books. Below is just a small selection of ebook packages relevant to Innovation and related subject areas. Whilst you will find these through Library Search, you can also search the collections directly at the links below and browse their content.
- Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains page images of every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473–1700.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window Authoritative guides to scholarship on a wide range of subjects, written and reviewed by leading academic experts.
- Westlaw This link opens in a new window Full text access to UK law reports, legislation and journals, with an emphasis on intellectual property and commercial law titles. Also full text access to Westlaw International Materials; EC cases and legislation; US materials covered in depth, with both federal and state reporters.
Free online eBook collections
- ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window Providing online access to over 5,000 core humanities titles chosen by scholars, the ACLS Humanities E-Book Collection supports remote research and learning worldwide.
- Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) This link opens in a new window Academic open access books from hundreds of participating Publishers.
Featured books
The Design of Everyday Life
How do common household items such as basic plastic house wares or high-tech digital cameras transform our daily lives? The Design of Everyday Life considers this question in detail, from the design of products through to their use in the home. Drawing on interviews with consumers themselves, the authors look at how everyday objects, ranging from screwdrivers to photo management software, are used on a practical level.
The Entrepreneur's Growth Startup Handbook
An accessible guide to handling the unforeseeable consequences of becoming an entrepreneur in today and tomorrow's economy. Engaging and informative, this book skillfully examines what usually goes wrong on the road to entrepreneurship, revealing what business owners regret and what you can do to address these issues.
The Innovator's Dilemma
An innovation classic. From Steve Jobs to Jeff Bezos, Clay Christensen’s work continues to underpin today’s most innovative leaders and organizations. In this classic bestseller--one of the most influential business books of all time--innovation expert Clayton Christensen shows how even the most outstanding companies can do everything right--yet still lose market leadership. Christensen explains why most companies miss out on new waves of innovation. Offering both successes and failures from leading companies as a guide, The Innovator’s Dilemma gives you a set of rules for capitalizing on the phenomenon of disruptive innovation.
The Disruption Dilemma
An expert in management takes on the conventional wisdom about disruption, looking at companies that proved resilient and offering managers tools for survival.
Marshall Mcluhan
Why is McLuhan important? What use can we make of his approach to the media today? In this insightful critical introduction, McLuhan′s contribution is carefully explained and his reputation reassessed. Illustrated with many examples from the network society, the book works as a guide to anyone who wants to know why McLuhan is important.
Design Thinking for Strategic Innovation
A comprehensive playbook for applied design thinking in business and management, complete with concepts and toolkits As many companies have lost confidence in the traditional ways of running a business, design thinking has entered the mix. Design Thinking for Strategic Innovation presents a framework for design thinking that is relevant to business management, marketing, and design strategies and also provides a toolkit to apply concepts for immediate use in everyday work.