Anthropology and Archaeology

The Archaeology Data Service supports research, learning and teaching with freely available, high quality and dependable digital resources. It includes: 
ArchSearch - national sites and monuments metadata
Archives - data-rich archaeological collections
ADS Library - journals, books and reports; incorporating BIAB (British and Irish Archaeological Bibliography).

Please note: you need to register to access Digimap modules the first time. You need to go to 'Log In' in the top right hand corner to log in.

Digimap comprises maps and map data, including the following: Digimap - Ordnance Survey Collection, Environment Digimap, Historic Digimap, Geology Digimap, Marine Digimap and Aerial and Lidar Digimap. Create or interrogate a map online by selecting an appropriate base map, adding annotations and customising the content, use measurement and query tools to learn more about any study area. Download the raw spatial data in a wide range of formats.

eHRAF Archaeology focuses on in-depth descriptive documents of mostly prehistoric archaeological traditions from around the world. The information is organized by tradition, region, subregion and subsistence type and is indexed at the paragraph level by Human Relations Area Files anthropologists using unique subject identifier codes from the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM).

eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life from historical to contemporary time periods. The contents are organized by regions, subregions, and cultures and cover over 300 cultures. The material is indexed at the paragraph level by Human Relations Area Files anthropologists using unique subject identifier codes from the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM).

Ethnologue lists every known living language that is still in use today - 7,151, to be exact. It is the most authoritative resource on world languages.

Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Mass Observation Online makes available personal diaries, surveys, and other materials to provide records of public opinion from 1937 to 1967.

The UN Department of Economic and Social Affairs profiles indigenous communities and their relationship to the land and the environment. It compiles all available guidelines, books, studies, reports, articles, training materials and documentation on indigenous peoples from the UN system and relevant entities.

NB: This database can be browsed on campus without signing into the Overton site. Off campus, users need to register on the Overton registration page with their @bristol.ac.uk email address. Overton allows users to discover policy documents in 180 countries and explore their links to each other and to the academic research that has informed them. Overton indexes work from governments, universities, IGOs, NGOs, research funders, publishers and think tanks to understand their role in the policymaking landscape. Users can track the evolution of ideas all the way from academic and think tank research to government reports and legislation.